The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman

Yet another Gaiman book which it sounds like I should read.

Books and travelling with Lynn

Just finished reading The Sleeper and the Spindle by Neil Gaiman which is a beautifully illustrated story.

This really is a gorgeous little book, a reimagined mishmash of Snow White and Sleeping Beauty with a bit of dark and creepy thrown in for good measure.

Now, whilst I do love a good fairytale retold, particularly when they come in such lovely packages, I wasn’t totally bowled over with this one.  Don’t get me wrong – it’s not a bad book, just not as good as I expected and I think I’ve genuinely surprised myself to be honest because I quite literally usually adore everything that Neil Gaiman does and I practically love him (not in a stalker-lets-boil-the-pets sort of way!)

It is a good story with an interesting twist in the tale and modernised in terms of a Queen coming to the rescue as opposed to a dashing knight in…

View original post 106 more words

Leave a Reply

