Books for Non-Readers (and a small rant)

I published this over at my main blog, but it is good for this blog too. At the end of the rant (which doesn’t show up on the reblog) I list 5 books for youth and 5 for adults who might want to get back into reading. Disagreements, discussion (or people defending The Woman in White) will be fun in the comments. I am sure M. Otaku has some thoughts as well…

The Dusty Thanes

Go look at this list and before you give you my opinion: this list is mostly BS. It always strikes me as strange how it seems always to be women giving advice on ‘reading-reluctant boys’ or ‘how to be a gentleman’ I sometimes wonder if this isn’t because men don’t care; but rather because a lot of women are nosey-parkers who don’t feel right unless they are giving advice to males… Whew! that wasn’t very nice of me, was it…

Let me continue complaining for a bit: ‘reading reluctant boys’ is actually fairly offensive. To make up a euphemism for someone who doesn’t like to read, and then talk about it only for boys is, well, forgetting that girls don’t read anything either. (…and thrill-loving girls, says the sub-title.) It is also a bit dumb to imply that boys need anything other than a well written, interesting story which…

View original post 631 more words

Leave a Reply

