Humboldt’s Gift

Never heard of anyone reading Saul Bellow’s works or anything about the author himself. This actually sounds like decent light reading.

Book Lion

“But I couldn’t see what good it would do me to fire a gun. As if I could shoot my way out of my perplexities – the chief perplexity being my character!” (Humboldt’s Gift by Saul Bellow)
“Put away that paper,’ I said. ‘For God’s sake, don’t quote my big ideas at me. If there’s one thing I can’t take today, it’s that.” (Humboldt’s Gift by Saul Bellow)

Humboldt's Gift CoverHumboldt’s Gift is composed almost entirely of the contradiction between lofty thoughts and crass actions, with virtually nothing commonplace filling the space between. Charlie Citrine, an aging lecher/philosopher/mystic, flips between contemplating the soul one moment to running around with Chicago’s lower class of criminals the next. Though the placement of literature right next to sex and crime does give the book a slightly ridiculous edge, its also what makes the book so incredibly readable and its main character so endearing.

View original post 238 more words

Leave a Reply

